FAQ

Here you will find answers to the most frequently asked questions about our company and our products.

Peak load capping in off-grid applications: How does it work?

Our TS HV high voltage system can be combined with a diesel generator for use in hybrid off-grid systems, where it can be used to cap peak loads and reduce diesel consumption. In this application, the diesel generator supplies voltage for the system and the TS HV optimizes the operating characteristics of the generator in the diesel hybrid system in order to use as little diesel as possible. This increases efficiency and extends the service life of the generator.

Service life and cycles?

TESVOLT batteries have a chemical service life of over 30 years. This means that the storage system should function for at least 30 years on the basis of its technological configuration alone. Depending on the application, the service life of the battery is more than 8,000 cycles at a DOD of 100%. These figures have been confirmed in comprehensive tests.

Tesvolt provides detailed warranties for its storage systems. What exactly is covered and for how long?

TESVOLT offers a 10-year performance warranty on its batteries (reinsured by Samsung SDI). This includes the industry’s first ever DC efficiency warranty.

TESVOLT also offers a transparent cycle warranty which depends on the C-rate, temperature and frequencies in each individual application.

In addition, all TESVOLT components come with a 5-year electronics insurance (reinsured by a reputable German insurance company).

TESVOLT batteries have a chemical service life of over 30 years.

How can operators ensure that the storage system runs within the temperature range covered by the warranty? Does this require the system to have a permanent internet connection to monitor the temperature?

Our transparent warranties allow each customer to decide for themselves whether they would like to operate their storage system in the Arctic Circle or in the desert. The storage systems take temperature readings which are continuously charted, even without an internet connection.

How do partial discharges affect the guaranteed number of cycles?

A cycle is defined as the discharge and recharge of all the energy in a cell (100% DOD). Microcycles (partial discharges) are accumulated into full cycles.

What is the ideal temperature range at the installation site?

Ideal temperatures for the storage system are between 15°C and 28°C. Due to the prismatic construction of our cells and the use of NMC technology, thermal loads are lower during the charging and discharging process. That’s why our warranties cover a broader range of temperatures.

To what extent do rapid charges and discharges as well as deep discharges of up to 100% stress the storage system? If the storage system is subjected to less stress, does this extend its service life?

TESVOLT uses Samsung SDI cells, which were developed for the automotive industry and are designed to withstand heavy loads. It makes little difference whether the cell is discharged at a rate of 0.3C or 2C. It is important that lithium batteries are continuously cycled, i.e. charged and discharged. Completely discharging 100% of the energy is not critical. Lithium cells age more quickly at high states of charge.

What are the advantages of a TS HV 70 high voltage storage system?

System efficiency increases. Due to higher voltages, significantly less electricity is needed, which makes it possible to reduce the cross sections of the cables, thereby also reducing losses in the cables. For example: at an output of 24 kW, the current is approx. 500 A at 48 V; accordingly, a copper cross section of at least 120 mm2 is needed. At an output of 24 kW, the current at 700 V is only approx. 35 A, so a copper cross section of 10 mm2 is sufficient.

In addition, the battery inverters are significantly more efficient thanks to their transformerless design. This makes it possible to achieve a round-trip efficiency from around 80% to over 90% for the entire system (charge controller + battery and hardware).

What are the response times and settling time of the TS HV 70?

The response time is approx. 20 ms and the settling time does not exceed 200 ms. During these 200 ms it is still possible to demand 100% power from the system. This means that the storage system is suitable for balancing power applications.

Is there a simple empirical formula used to calculate electricity generation costs of under 10 cents/kWh with a photovoltaic installation and a TESVOLT storage system?

To calculate production costs (electricity generation costs), i.e. the cost per kWh of self-generated electricity for the operator, the total investment costs are divided by the power generated over the entire service life of the PV installation, wind turbine, CHP plant etc. This is because the storage system is charged by the energy source and increases self-consumption.

When these figures are entered into the empirical formula shown below, the result is a price of 10 euro cents per stored kilowatt-hour. A detailed representation that takes into account inflation, degradation, the EEG levy, maintenance, insurance and metering costs, etc. can be transparently calculated using PV-Kalk, an online tool for calculating PV profitability (only available in German).

Storage temperature of the battery modules?

The battery modules can be stored at temperatures between -20°C and 60°C without any loss in operational capability.

Does the monitoring system really depict each cell individually?

Yes – during monitoring, the voltage of each cell is measured individually. These values are then used to determine the state of charge (SOC) and the state of health (SOH).

How does battery recycling work?

The batteries are recycled by the GRS Batterien Foundation, which operates a common collection scheme for lithium batteries. As part of this program, TESVOLT pays a fee for each battery module sold. GRS Batterien guarantees that the battery module and the Active Battery Optimizer will be collected.

Currently this program is only available in Germany, but an expansion to include all of Europe as well as North America and Australia is planned from 2018.

How does the TS 48 volt system achieve standby consumption of one watt?

The system has been technically optimized to minimize losses. The single watt is consumed by a processor. Instead of using relays, which have a holding current, the system relies on a static switch to isolate the battery from the charge controller. The power dissipation of the static switch is calculated by the equation P=I2 * R. If no current is flowing, the static switch does not require any power. Moreover the system forgoes passive balancing, which is prone to losses, in favour of an energy-efficient active balancing process, which is the only of its kind worldwide (Active Battery Optimizer – made by TESVOLT).

Can the battery modules and racks be expanded years later?

Our TS and TS HV 70 storage systems not only offer flexible configuration options at the moment of purchase – thanks to the innovative Active Battery Optimizer technology, the capacity can also be expanded years later.

The Active Battery Optimizer optimizes all the cells within the battery modules, as well as the individual battery modules in relation to one another. This process is the only one of its kind worldwide and, for the first time, ensures that the system can be adjusted to reflect customer requirements, making an investment in a modular lithium storage system both safe and sustainable.

What is the Active Battery Optimizer (ABO)?

Der Active Battery Optimizer (ABO) ist eine technologische Innovation Made in Germany by TESVOLT.

The Active Battery Optimizer (ABO) is a technological innovation “Made in Germany” by TESVOLT. The ABO not only optimizes all the cells within the battery modules, but also the individual battery modules in relation to one another. This process is the only one of its kind worldwide and, for the first time, ensures that an investment in a modular lithium storage system is both safe and sustainable. The ABO is located on the front of each battery module.

What is the Active Power Unit (APU)?

The Active Power Unit (APU) is a technological innovation “Made in Germany” by TESVOLT. In the high voltage and 48 V TESVOLT storage systems, the APU serves as the interface between the battery modules and the inverter.

This system includes the following technological innovations:
  1. In order to isolate the battery from the charge controller, relays, which have a holding current, have been replaced by a static switch. The power dissipation of the static switch is calculated using the equation P=I2 * R. If no current is flowing, the static switch does not require any power – this increases the efficiency of the system.
  2. The rack, battery module and every individual cell is monitored.
  3. All battery modules are optimized via the individual Active Battery Optimizers on the battery modules.

FAQ

Hier finden Sie häufig gestellte Fragen zu unserem Unternehmen und unseren Produkten.

Förderung in Nordrhein-Westfalen und Thüringen: Welche Voraussetzung muss ein Unternehmen dafür erfüllen und gibt es diese Förderung auch für Städte und Gemeinden?

Die Förderung beantragen können Privatpersonen und freiberuflich Tätige sowie Unternehmen, insbesondere kleine und mittlere Unternehmen (KMU) gemäß der Definition in Anhang I der Verordnung (EU) Nr. 651/2014, die zum Zeitpunkt der Auszahlung ihren Sitz oder Sitz der Betriebsstätte oder Niederlassung in Nordrhein- Westfalen haben. Die Voraussetzungen für die Antragsberechtigung eines Unternehmens beinhalten keine Aussagen zum beihilferechtlichen Unternehmensbegriff.

Auch Gemeinden, Gemeindeverbände, soweit sie als Träger von Schulen, Kindergärten, wissenschaftlichen, sozialen, kulturellen, religiösen, karitativen oder sportlichen Einrichtungen ohne wirtschaftliche Tätigkeit auftreten, können die Förderung beantragen.

Gefördert werden stationäre Batteriespeicher in Nordrhein-Westfalen in Verbindung mit einer Photovoltaikanlage mit einer Peakleistung größer als 30 kW. Dabei kann es sich sowohl um eine Neuanlage als auch um die Nachrüstung einer bestehenden Anlage handeln, die nach dem 31.12.2012 in Betrieb genommen wurde. Weiterhin werden die Ausgaben für entsprechende Mess- und Steuerungseinrichtungen sowie Informations- und Kommunikationsmaßnahmen zum Betreiben des Stromspeichers gefördert. Die technischen Spezifikationen des Speichers sind der Bewilligungsbehörde vorzulegen. Fördervoraussetzung ist, dass die Leistungsabgabe der Photovoltaikanlage am Netzanschlusspunkt für die Lebensdauer des Photovoltaiksystems für 15-Minuten-Werte bei Standard- Testbedingungen auf 50 % der installierten Leistung der Photovoltaikanlage reduziert wird. Diese Verpflichtung bleibt auch nach Außerbetriebnahme des Speichersystems bestehen.

Lastspitzenkappung bei Off-Grid-Anwendungen: Wie funktioniert das?

Unser neues Hochvolt-System TS HV kann auch für hybride-Off-Grid Systeme in Kombination mit einem Dieselgenerator eingesetzt werden und in diesen Fall Lastspitzen kappen, um den Dieselverbrauch zu reduzieren. Der Dieselgenerator stellt für diese Anwendung Spannung für das System zur Verfügung und der TS HV optimiert im Diesel-Hybridsystem die Fahrweise des Dieselgenerators, um möglichst wenig Diesel zu verbrauchen. Die Effizienz wird dadurch erhöht und die Lebensdauer des Generators verlängert.

Lebensdauer und Zyklen?

Die chemische Lebensdauer der TESVOLT-Batterien beträgt mehr als 30 Jahre. Das bedeutet, dass der Speicher allein durch seine technologische Zusammensetzung mindestens 30 Jahre funktionsfähig bleibt. Die zyklische Lebensdauer beträgt abhängig der Anwendung bei 100 % DOD mehr als 8000 Zyklen. Die Angaben konnten durch umfangreiche Tests nachgewiesen werden.

Tesvolt übernimmt detaillierte Garantien für die Speichersysteme. Was wird genau abgedeckt und über welchen Zeitraum?

Tesvolt bietet eine 10 Jahres Leistungsgarantie auf die Batterien (Rückversichert durch Samsung SDI). Dies beinhaltet erstmals in der Brache eine DC-Wirkungsgrad Garantie.

Des Weiteren gibt TESVOLT eine transparente Zyklengarantie in Abhängigkeit von C-Rate, Temperatur und Häufigkeiten, je nach Anwendungsfall.

Dazu kommen 5 Jahre Elektronikversicherung auf alle Bauteile von TESVOLT (rückversichert durch einen namhaften deutschen Versicherer).

Die chemische Lebensdauer der TESVOLT-Batterien beträgt mehr als 30 Jahre.

mehr im Downloadbereich

Wie wird sichergestellt, dass der Speicher in einem von der Garantie abgedeckten Temperaturbereich betrieben wird? Benötigt das System dafür eine permanente Internetverbindung zur Überwachung?

Unsere transparenten Garantien ermöglichen es jedem Kunden, selbst zu entscheiden, ob er seinen Speicher am Polarkreis oder in der Wüste betreiben möchte. Die Speicher führen Temperaturmessungen durch, die auch ohne eine Internetverbindung stetig abgebildet werden.

Wie wirken sich Teilentladungen auf die garantierte Zyklenzahl aus?

Ein Zyklus wird definiert, die gesamte Energie der Zelle entladen und wieder geladen wird (100% DOD). Mikrozyklen (Teilentladungen) werden dabei zu Vollzyklen kumuliert.

Was ist der optimale Temperaturbereich am Aufstellungsort?

Eine ideale Temperatur der Speicher liegt zwischen 15°C und 28°C. Durch die prismatische Bauform unserer Zellen und die NMC-Technologie kommt es zu weniger hohen Temperaturbelastungen beim Be- und Entladeprozess. Daher geben wir auch in unseren Garantien breiter gefächerte Temperaturbereiche an.

Wie groß ist der Stress für den Speicher, wenn er stets sehr schnell be- und entladen wird und bis zu 100 Prozent tief entladen wird? Wie verlängert sich die Lebensdauer, wenn der Speicher nicht so stark gestresst wird?

Die Zellen von Samsung SDI, die TESVOLT einsetzt, sind für starke Belastungen konzipiert, da sie für die Automobilindustrie entwickelt wurden. Beim Entladen spielt es kaum eine Rolle, ob die Zelle mit einer Geschwindigkeit von 0,3C oder 2C entladen wird. Zudem ist es wichtig, dass eine Lithium Batterie stets zyklisiert wird. Eine Energieentnahme von 100% ist nicht kritisch. Eine Lithiumzelle altert bei hohen Ladezuständen schneller.

Was sind die Vorteile eines Hochvoltspeichersystems TS HV 70?

Die Systemeffizienz steigt. Durch höhere Spannungen wird ein deutlich geringerer Strom benötigt. Dadurch sinken die Querschnitte der Leitungen und damit auch die Verluste in den Leitungen. Beispiel: Bei 24 kW Leistung fließen auf 48 V Ebene ca. 500A Strom, demnach benötigt man wenigstens 120 mm² Kupferquerschnitt. Bei 24 kW Leistung auf 700 V Ebene fließen lediglich ca. 35 A, hier reicht demnach 10 mm² als Kupferquerschnitt aus.

Zudem sind die Batteriewechselrichter durch eine effizientere transformatorlose Bauweise deutlich effizienter. Der Roundtrip Wirkungsgrad im Gesamtsystem ist somit von circa 80% auf über 90% möglich.

Wie sind die Reaktionszeiten und die Ausregeldauer beim TS HV 70?

Die Reaktionszeit beträgt ca. 20 ms und die Ausregeldauer maximal 200 msec. Innerhalb von diesen 200 msec. Ist es auch möglich, 100% Leistung des Systems abzurufen. Damit ist das Speichersystem für Regelenergie-Anwendungen geeignet.

Wie lautet eine einfache Faustformel zur Berechnung von Stromgestehungskosten mit einer Photovoltaikanlage und einem TESVOLT Speichersystem zu Kosten von unter 10 Cent/kWh?

Für die „Produktionskosten“ (Stromgestehungskosten) - also was kostet dem Betreiber der selbst erzeugte Strom je kWh? - werden die gesamten Investitionskosten durch die erzeugte Energie der gesamten Laufzeit der PV-Anlage, Windanlage, BHKW etc. dividiert. Denn der Speicher wird durch die Erzeuger beladen und bringt eine Erhöhung des Eigenverbrauchs mit sich.

Wenn diese Daten in die unten angezeigte Faustformel eingesetzt werden, zeigt das Ergebnis einen Preis pro gespeicherter Kilowattstunde von 10 Cent. Eine detaillierte Darstellung, unter Berücksichtigung von Inflation, Degradation, EEG-Umlage, Wartung, Versicherung und Zählerkosten etc. können im PV-Kalk transparent im Detail berechnet werden. mehr lesen

Lagertemperatur der Batteriemodule?

Die Batteriemodule können bei Temperaturen von -20°C bis zu 60°C gelagert werden, ohne an Funktionstüchtigkeit zu verlieren.

Wird im Monitoring wirklich jede Zelle einzeln dargestellt?

Ja – beim Monitoring wird die Spannung jeder einzelnen gemessen. Anhand dieser Werte werden dann der Ladezustand (SOC) und der Gesundheitszustand (SOH) ermittelt.

Wie funktioniert das Recycling der Batterien?

Die Batterien werden von der Stiftung Gemeinsames Rücknahmesystem für Lithiumbatterien (GRS Batterien) recycelt. TESVOLT zahlt dafür einen Betrag pro verkauften Batteriemodul. Die GRS garantiert eine Abholung des Batteriemoduls und des Active Battery Optimizer.

Aktuell gilt dieses Programm nur in Deutschland. Ab 2018 soll es europaweit und in Nordamerika und Australien gelten.

Wie ist es ein Standby-Verbrauch von einem Watt bei einem TS 48 Volt möglich?

Das System ist technisch so optimiert, dass die Verluste minimal sind. Die 1 Watt resultieren aus den Verbrauch eines Prozessors. Zur Trennung der Batterie vom Laderegler werden keine Relais eingesetzt, die einen Haltestrom besitzen, sondern ein Static Switch, dessen Verlustleistung über die Gleichung P=I2 * R ermittelt wird. Fließt kein Strom, benötigt der Static Switch auch keine Leistung. Zudem wurde kein verlustbehaftetes Passives Balancing eingesetzt, sondern ein energieeffizientes, weltweit einzigartiges Verfahren des aktiven Balancing (Active Battery Optimizer – made by TESVOLT). mehr lesen

Ist eine Erweiterung der Batteriemodule und Racks auch Jahre später möglich?

Unsere TS und TSHV70 Speichersysteme sind nicht nur bei ihrer Anschaffung flexibel konfigurierbar – dank Ihrer innovativen Active Battery Optimizer Technologie kann ihre Kapazität auch Jahre später erweitert werden. Der Active Battery Optimizer optimiert sowohl alle Batteriezellen innerhalb des Batteriemodules, als auch die einzelnen Batteriemodule untereinander. Dieses Verfahren ist weltweit einzigartig und ermöglicht erstmals eine sichere und nachhaltige Investition in ein modulares Lithium-Speichersystem, dass sich dem Bedarf des Kunden anpasst.

Was ist der Active Battery Optimizer (ABO)?

Der Active Battery Optimizer (ABO) ist eine technologische Innovation Made in Germany by TESVOLT.

Der ABO optimiert sowohl alle Batteriezellen innerhalb des Batteriemodules, als auch die einzelnen Batteriemodule untereinander. Dieses Verfahren ist weltweit einzigartig und bietet erstmals eine sichere und nachhaltige Investition in ein modulares Lithium-Speichersystem. Der ABO befindet sich an der Front eines jeden einzelnen Batteriemodules.

Was ist die Active Power Unit (APU)?

Die Active Power Unit (APU) Eist eine technologische Innovation Made in Germany by TESVOLT. I(n den Tesvolt-Speichern mit einer Spannung von 48 V und , Hochvolt) ist die APU ist die Schnittstelle zwischen Wechselrichter und den Batteriemodulenden Batteriemodulen und dem Wechselrichter.

Die technologische Innovationen dieses Systems umfassen:
  1. Den Static Switch zur Trennung der Batterie vom Laderegler statt von Relais, die einen Haltestrom besitzen. Die Verlustleistung des Static Switch wird mit der Gleichung P=I²*R ermittelt. Fließt kein Strom, benötigt der Static Switch auch keine Leistung – die Effizienz des Systems steigt.
  2. Das Monitoring von Rack, Batteriemodul und jeder einzelnen Zelle.
  3. Die Optimierung aller Batteriemodule über die einzelnen Active Battery Optimizer am Batteriemodul mehr lesen