Active Battery Optimizer

Technology by Tesvolt

The Active Battery Optimizer (ABO) is a technological innovation “Made in Germany” by TESVOLT. The ABO not only optimizes the cells within the battery modules, but also the individual battery modules in relation to one another. This process is the only one of its kind worldwide and, for the first time, ensures that an investment in a modular lithium storage system is both safe and sustainable. The ABO is located on the front of each battery module.

Why is a battery management system (BMS) important?

The cells in a battery system age differently depending on a variety of factors. Cell ageing can lead to differences in capacity and internal resistance, as well as variations in leakage currents. This affects both charging losses and capacity, and thus has an impact on the voltage of each individual cell. On the other hand, excessive charging reduces the service life of the cells even further, quickly resulting in an avalanche effect if the problem is not rectified...

Cell monitoring and balancing systems are able to detect such differences in battery systems and correct them on a continuous basis. This process significantly increases the lifespan of individual cells.

Balancing methods

Comparison of methods Passive Active (unidirectional) Active Battery Optimizer
Procedure “Letting off” excess energy through resistance Distributing energy from one cell to another (unidirectional) Controlled distribution of energy across individual cells (bidirectional)
Losses high medium low
Efficiency 0 % 70-91% > 92 %
Costs niedrig high high
Maximum balancing current (without cooling) 0,05 A 3 A 5 A
Balancing period high medium low
Heat generation high low low
Cell protection and safety good good very good

Passive balancing:

Cells with excess voltage are discharged using fixed or selectable bypass resistances. Electrical energy resulting from the different states of charge is converted into thermal energy and lost.

Active unidirectional balancing (power pump or “charge pump” method)

Two transistor switches (MOSFET) and a choke are used to “pump” excess charge from one cell to the next. Since only the controlled discharge of circuits is permitted in this process, it is also referred to as unidirectional active balancing. However, charge can only be distributed between the cells in one direction here.

Active Battery Optimizer (TESVOLT)

In contrast to unidirectional balancing, here, each cell can be charged by or discharged into all other cells in a battery module. This allows the battery system to be balanced quickly and efficiently.

The TESVOLT battery management system

TESVOLT’s Active Battery Optimizer ensures that battery cells are always charged and discharged in an ideal way. The optimizer monitors the temperature, voltage and state of charge (SoH & SoC) of each individual cell or module and controls them within the battery system.

This efficient distribution of energy means that only 3 W (with TS 48V) and 5 W (with TS HV) are consumed by the storage systems in standby mode (battery cabinet incl. batteries and ABO). This prevents unnecessary heating of the system, which would in turn require a cooling system.

The process significantly increases the service life of individual cells and, thanks to software and hardware-based shutdown mechanisms (dual redundant), sets new standards in cell protection and safety.

The TESVOLT BMS is primarily made up of two components – the Active Power Unit (APU) and the Active Battery Optimizer (ABO), which are each connected to a battery module.

BatMon cell monitoring

Thanks to the innovative Active Battery Optimizer and comprehensive monitoring of the storage systems down to cell level, TESVOLT is able to provide its customers with software that can visualize the state of health (SoH – and voltage) and state of charge (SoH) of each individual cell.

Replace and upgrade batteries at any time

Our TS 48 V and TS HV 70 storage systems not only offer flexible configuration options at the moment of purchase – thanks to innovative Active Battery Optimizer technology, their capacity can also be expanded years later.

Active Battery Optimizer

Technology by Tesvolt

Der Active Battery Optimizer (ABO) ist eine technologische Innovation Made in Germany by TESVOLT. Der ABO optimiert sowohl alle Batteriezellen innerhalb des Batteriemodules, als auch die einzelnen Batteriemodule untereinander. Dieses Verfahren ist weltweit einzigartig und bietet erstmals eine sichere und nachhaltige Investition in ein modulares Lithium-Speichersystem. Der ABO befindet sich an der Front eines jeden einzelnen Batteriemoduls.

Warum ist ein Batteriemanagementsystem (BMS) wichtig?

Batteriezellen in einem Batteriesystem altern unterschiedlich in Abhängigkeit von verschiedenen Einflüssen. Die Alterung der Zellen führt zu Kapazitätsunterschieden, Abweichungen im Innenwiderstand und unterschiedlichen Leckströmen. Dies beeinflusst die Ladungsverluste, aber auch die Kapazität und damit die Zellspannung jeder einzelnen Zelle. Unzulässige Ladezustände wiederum reduzieren die Lebensdauer der Zellen weiter, so dass ohne Abhilfe schnell ein Lawineneffekt entsteht.

Cell Monitoring und Balancing Systeme können solche Unterschiede im Batteriesystem erkennen und über das Cell Balancing kontinuierlich korrigieren. Dieses Verfahren erhöht signifikant die Lebensdauer der einzelnen Zellen.

Balancing Verfahren

Vergleich der Verfahren Passiv Aktiv (unidirektional) Active Battery Optimizer
Verfahren „Verheizung“ überschüssiger Energie mittels Widerstände Verteilung der Energie von Zelle zu Zelle (eine Richtung) Gezielte Verteilung der Energie in einzelne Zellen (beide Richtungen)
Verluste hoch mittel gering
Wirkungsgrad 0 % 70-91% > 92 %
Kosten niedrig hoch hoch
Maximale Balancing Ströme (ohne Kühlung) 0,05 A 3 A 5 A
Balancingdauer hoch mittel gering
Wärmeentwicklung hoch gering gering
Zellschutz und Sicherheit gut gut sehr gut

Passives Balancing:

Mittels zuschaltbaren oder fest installierten Bypass-Widerständen werden Zellen mit zu hoher Spannung entladen. Die aus den unterschiedlichen Ladezuständen resultierende elektrische Energie wird in Wärme umgewandelt und geht verloren.

Aktiv unidirektionales Balancing (Power Pump oder „Ladungspumpen“-Verfahren)

Mit zwei Transistor-Schaltern (MOSFET) und einer Drossel wird die überschüssige Ladung einer Zelle in die nächste „gepumpt“. Dieses Verfahren wird auch als unidirektionales aktives Balancing bezeichnet, da es nur die gesteuerte Entladung eines Kreises erlaubt. Die Ladungsverteilung der Zellen ist hier jedoch nur in eine Richtung möglich.

Active Battery Optimizer (TESVOLT)

Im Unterschied zum unidirektionalen Balancing kann jede Zelle von der anderen Zelle eines Batteriemoduls geladen oder in alle anderen Zellen entladen werden. Dies ermöglicht eine schnelle und effiziente Symmetrierung des Batteriesystems.

Das Tesvolt Batteriemanagementsystem

Der Active Battery Optimizer von TESVOLT sorgt dafür, dass die Batteriezellen immer optimal be- und entladen werden. Der Optimizer überwacht die Temperatur, die Spannung und den Ladezustand (SOH & SOC) jeder einzelnen Zelle bzw. Batteriemodule und steuert sie im Batteriesystem.

Durch diese effiziente Energieverteilung wird nur 1 W (TS48V) bzw. 3 W (TS HV im Standby-Betrieb des Speichers verbraucht (Batterieschrank inkl. Batterien und ABO). So wird auch eine unnötige Erwärmung des Speichers verhindert, die zwingend eine Kühlung erfordern würde.

Das Verfahren erhöht die Lebensdauer der einzelnen Zellen signifikant und setzt durch Soft- sowie Hardwarebasierte Abschaltmechanismen (doppelt redundant) neue Maßstäbe in Zellschutz und Sicherheit.

Das TESVOLT BMS besteht im Wesentlichen aus zwei Komponenten – der Active Power Unit (APU) sowie dem Active Battery Optimizer (ABO), welche jeweils mit einem Batteriemodul verbunden sind.

BatMon Zellüberwachung

Dank des innovativen Active Battery Optimizers und der umfassenden Überwachung des Speichers bis auf Zellebene kann TESVOLT seinen Kunden eine Software bereitstellen, welche die Spannung, den State of Health (SoH), sowie den State of Charge (SoC) jeder einzelnen Zelle visualisiert.

Jederzeit Batterien tauschen und erweitern

Unsere TS48V und TSHV70 Speichersysteme sind nicht nur bei ihrer Anschaffung flexibel konfigurierbar – dank Ihrer innovativen Active Battery Optimizer Technologie kann ihre Kapazität auch Jahre später erweitert werden.